Memory Access Violation

Threads made on bugs from older game versions.
User avatar
MonocleBios
MTF
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 5:22 am
Location: The Great White North

Re: Memory Access Violation

Postby MonocleBios » Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:11 am

OmiSC wrote:
Krywk wrote:While it is true the engine is f***ing old, the game is being rewritten in C++ and there's a possibility of ports for Mac and Linux, and also more compatibility and optimization of performance in Windows.

Really? By whom? And since when?


Answer42, since early December.
He's using SFML/OpenGL
M-x dingus-mode

spartan322
Senior Staff
Posts: 1397
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 1:16 pm
Location: Raiding your bacon supplies

Re: Memory Access Violation

Postby spartan322 » Tue May 14, 2013 1:33 pm

Eulicid killers wrote:Guys,I have found a solution,and this might not work for everyone,but this problem seems like a windows 7 problem,it also happened to me,i found the solution,and the solution is:
1.) goto the folder where your SCP containment breach is located
2.) right click on the shortcut called "scp containment breach" but not the folder kay?
3.) choose run as administrator
4.) enjoy!! ^_^


That is what everyone tells to do. Sometimes work, sometimes doesn't.
-Resident Bacon Fanatic-

User avatar
SCP-500
Operative
Posts: 482
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:52 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Memory Access Violation

Postby SCP-500 » Wed May 15, 2013 11:27 am

I only get MAV's in three places. (In v.7.1)

-Entrance to 106 containment chamber
-Maintenance tunnels (Very rarely)
-049s tunnel

Those are the only places i've got memory access violations, in v.6.6 i used to get them when finding 096s old room.
ERIC IS LOVE, ERIC IS LIFE.

Lowellgrippo
Class-D
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:41 am

Re: Memory Access Violation

Postby Lowellgrippo » Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:56 am

Im having the same trouble I use linux Mint 14 when I launch the game is fine but when I make a new game it just says Memory Access Violation. Ive tried everything Ive been to every site of how to fix it but nothing works! Is it because of my platform that im playing on or something? But if anyone reads this please give me an answer! O_O

User avatar
hug0905
Senior Staff
Posts: 1819
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:43 pm

Re: Memory Access Violation

Postby hug0905 » Thu Jun 06, 2013 2:02 am

Lowellgrippo wrote:Im having the same trouble I use linux Mint 14 when I launch the game is fine but when I make a new game it just says Memory Access Violation. Ive tried everything Ive been to every site of how to fix it but nothing works! Is it because of my platform that im playing on or something? But if anyone reads this please give me an answer! O_O

sorry to bump on this thread, but the game isn't compatible with lunix or mac, a c++ version is currently working on.
I've been around for five years

not saying I'll post anything here anymore

elmx844
Class-D
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 6:11 pm

Re: Memory Access Violation

Postby elmx844 » Mon Jun 24, 2013 6:15 pm

Destructoid wrote:Give us your system specs, OS, and then try fullscreen/no fullscreen, and then try running the game as an administrator. You can also try disabling the intro sequence. BTW, the game is windows only and since it runs on an engine that was made in the time when dinosaurs walked the earth, many glitches seem to be computer specific. If you can't play, we're sorry, and you're missing out on one special horror experience.


OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
Other OS Description Not Available
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name ALEX-LAPTOP
System Manufacturer ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC.
System Model G75VW
System Type x64-based PC
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz, 2301 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date American Megatrends Inc. G75VW.210, 6/15/2012
SMBIOS Version 2.7
Windows Directory C:\Windows
System Directory C:\Windows\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "6.1.7601.17514"
User Name Alex-Laptop\Alexander Williams
Time Zone Eastern Daylight Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 8.00 GB
Total Physical Memory 7.96 GB
Available Physical Memory 5.56 GB
Total Virtual Memory 15.9 GB
Available Virtual Memory 13.2 GB
Page File Space 7.96 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys

salikoid
Class-D
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:55 pm

Re: Memory Access Violation

Postby salikoid » Thu Aug 01, 2013 5:10 pm

I have v0.7.3, and I've been working on one particular map for a while. I found 096 in his containment room (which is weird, since I've found him in that control room thing already), and suddenly the fps goes down and the game crashes. Some help?

najaka326
Class-D
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 8:50 pm

Re: Memory Access Violation

Postby najaka326 » Mon Dec 30, 2013 8:56 pm

Usually mine works fine, but it always gets the Memory Access Violation error when I open certain doors. I tried no-clipping through the doors, and all I see is a guard walk into an elevator shaft, and then the error appears.

User avatar
Serimah
Senior Staff
Posts: 1461
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 3:11 pm
Location: DON'T LOOK AT MY FACE!

Re: Memory Access Violation

Postby Serimah » Mon Dec 30, 2013 9:12 pm

najaka326 wrote:Usually mine works fine, but it always gets the Memory Access Violation error when I open certain doors. I tried no-clipping through the doors, and all I see is a guard walk into an elevator shaft, and then the error appears.



Yeah, the MTF are still known to cause Memory Access Violations depending where they are to this day. Also, the elevator scene is kinda.. uh.. bugged on my end pretty much every single time.
I suppose all the scripting additions that Regalis has done within the last 12 months also caused more errors to appear after fixing old ones.

User avatar
Omniary
Moderator
Posts: 2004
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 3:43 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Memory Access Violation

Postby Omniary » Mon Dec 30, 2013 9:28 pm

Regalis did mention that he fixed a LOT of bugs for v0.9, so I'm assuming the event with the guard and elevator will be fixed in the next update. Though, this is an old thread, (as you can see by the sub forum) so try to post in the still relevant ones, like this one.
gIVe me your rare kumikos this is a robbery!!
I wonder if we dance too fast for the old people! Mold People!

The dying ancient ruins with their shopping carts!


Return to “Old Threads”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests