Barotrauma Extended Medical Guide

To start things off, I am bound to get some things wrong, I am still fairly new to this game and some of this is guesswork, if I do make mistakes correct me.

From watching people play Barotrauma and playing the game myself I've seen many people playing Medical Officer incorrectly in the way they treat their fellow crew, and in some cases are worsening the chances of the wounded's chance of survival. So I thought I'd share my knowledge to others who may want to know of it.

Basic Medical Items in BTE

Health Scanner HUD:

This is a great tool in the medics arsenal but I often see medics never use it or use it all the time. Using it all the time is bad as it reduces communication with the crew as you don't have your headset on. However I also see medics never use it, and this could partly be because diagnosing a patient is mostly common sense (I will come back to this later) but the HUD has other uses too. One being that the HUD displays the actual name of the player you are looking at, so if they are disguised you will be aware of their true name. It also displays whether the person is infected with the Calyx parasite, and how severe their infection is. This makes the HUD a very situational tool, but not a useless one.

DO: Scan players in the event of an outbreak and if you suspect someone of being disguised. DON'T: Wear your HUD 24/7.

Defibrillator: